Why small children hate holidays

When my children were very young, we tried a variety of holidays.

It was always a disaster.  The kids whined constantly.  They ate and slept even less than normal.  The only time they were ever happy was when we packed up to come home.

I couldn’t understand it.

Then one year the penny dropped.

Our first son was three and capable at last of expressing thoughts verbally.  As we rocked up at yet another shockingly overpriced holiday destination, his little hand grabbed mine.  I looked down to see tears spilling from his eyes.

“What on earth is the matter?”  I asked.

“I liked our other home,” he replied.  “I don’t want to live here.”

My advice on holidaying with very small children?  Give it a miss.

Small children don’t get holidays.  Do everyone a favour and stay at home.

 

Coming soon… What to do about fussy eaters

Leave a Reply

